A Day In The Life Of M.Deezy

02262012

Today has probably been one of the most productive days I’ve ever had. Well, on the weekend at least. I woke up this morning and hit the road for a bike ride at 7:30am (I have no legitimate reason as to why I was up so early). Finished the ride around 9:00am and waited for my coworker to wake up. Picked her up close to 11am and hit the trails to find the waterfall at Eaton Canyon. Had lunch by the waterfall and got back home to shower all before 3pm. Not a bad Sunday for sure.

PlayMe: Just do it.


The day started out with a bunch of overcast, but cleared up to a really nice sunny day by noon time. I’m sure I got a little darker today.


She tried to convince me to wear flip flops on the hike. I mean there were perks to doing so, but not so much when we were trekking through the rocks. I did not envy her, hahaha. Real trooper for doing this hike wearing Rainbows.


Made it!! I really didn’t want to leave this spot. It was perfectly in the shade with a breeze from the waterfall… bliss.


Don’t let the previous photo fool you, there were tons of people here. We spotted this grandma chillin by the rocks on the side of the water. There’s nothing like the feeling of shame when you spot an elderly woman at the finish line and you’re sweating your ass off knowing she did what you did.


Here’s some pics from the iPhone.


I don’t think I’m going to lug the SLR next time. This thing was a huge liability, especially when I had to play Frogger on the rocks trying to cross the 5-7 streams on the trail without getting wet. Though I must admit, thongs (flip flops in Australian) were super ideal for crossing the water.


Oh yes, my phone was definitely close to the water.


Oh yes, my phone went UNDER water.


Vicki and I got Lee’s sandwiches for lunch, but here’s a winning story for you guys. We were sitting in the drive thru, ordered the sandwiches, then I drove up to the pay window. Our total came out to be $6.80. I handed the girl at the window my debit card and she says to me, “Oh, I’m sorry but we’re cash only.” I looked at Vicki and she’s like I got 5 bucks. I dug into my change compartment to find 4 quarters, but we were still 80 cents short. I kindly asked the girl if she could just hold our order until we come back with the full amount. She whispered to me “How much do you have?”. I told her we have 6 dollars in total, she hooked us up and let us slide. Byahhh! Win of the day.


On the way back, we hit this fork in the road… and seeing as how I’ve never been on this trail before, I had to follow the one who has. Homegirl here, makes a wrong turn and lands us in the middle of no where. I swear to you, it was like the death valley of this hike. With a development of a minor panic attack and “keen” sense of direction, I managed to get us back on track… She no longer had the privilege of giving directions.

Hell of a day! I’d like to do stuff like this more often…
Deezy. Out!

4 responses

  1. Laurie

    underwater picture is so much win! this post inspired me to go hiking!!!

    February 26, 2012 at 8:07 PM

    • mikeedee220

      find a good one and we’ll go when i come back!

      February 26, 2012 at 8:20 PM

  2. Ahh, underwater! Haha. I’d be so scared to do that to my phone, even with that lifeproof case lol, but that photo is so cool. =]

    Haha, I like your friend. I’d probably wear flip flops just to see if I could do it…but I’d probably pack a pair of hiking shoes with me…in case I wimp out.

    I’ve been planning to go on a hike…maybe this weekend. Your post is getting me excited for it!

    February 27, 2012 at 6:35 PM

    • mikeedee220

      Thanks!! I only trusted my phone to go underwater because my phone comes with me to the shower on a daily basis… otherwise I’d be a little nervous about it too!

      That’s a good idea. I’d highly recommend bringing hiking shoes as insurance. The trail we were on was almost dangerously rocky at some points. But man, was I jealous when she just walked through the stream…

      I hope you go on your hike this weekend! Give me something interesting to read! I’m gonna need it after these next couple of days…

      February 27, 2012 at 10:43 PM

Leave a Reply

